Junior League report

The third and final round of the Lincolnshire Junior Swimming League saw Lincoln Vulcans make the short trip to Yarborough Leisure Centre where they competed against the best Lincolnshire had to offer. Going into the gala Vulcans were occupying 5th place in the League and knew it would be a tough gala where they would have to battle for every point.

Overall the team put in an excellent performance and were faster in 67% races and achieved 3 more victories than in round 2. Team spirit on the night was superb with the swimmers showing wonderful support for their team mates.

The Swimmer of the Night award is split between Laura Dickinson, Frankie Lightfoot, with both achieving 2 individual victories as well as helping their respective relay teams to victory in both the freestyle and medley.

Vulcans started the night with a victory in the 12/u Medley relay. Frankie Lightfoot got the team off to an excellent start leading the pack followed by Verity Nevitt and Laura Dickinson who extended the lead leaving Ciara Smith to bring it home finishing well ahead of the next team.

The next victory was the 11/u girls freestyle team consisting of Charley Holmes, Holly Marshall, Niamh Monaghan and Lilia Burton who led from start to finish.

Onto the individual races and the next winner was Laura Dickinson taking a comfortable victory in the 50m fly; soon to be followed by fellow 12/u swimmer Frankie Lightfoot in the freestyle. Event 27 saw Mia Copping cruise to victory in her 50m fly and within 2 races Vulcans had claimed another victory this time Charley Holmes securing her first win of the night by a body length in the 50m freestyle. 2 more races with by and Laura Dickinson took her second win with another dominant performance. Several races later Charley Holmes and Frankie Lightfoot were back in action, both adding to their earlier wins; this time in the 50m breast and back respectively.

Both the 11/u and 12/u girls were victorious in the second batch of relays, again in a commanding fashion. The 11/u team consisted of Annie Johnson, Niamh Monaghan, Freya Taylor and Holly Marshall. The 12/u team consisted of Frankie Lightfoot, Verity Nevitt, Ciara Smith and Laura Dickinson.

2nd places went to 10/u girls medley relay team, Rhianna Stone (50m breast & 50m backstroke), Freya Taylor (50m Fly) & Mia Copping (50m freestyle).

3rd places went to Lyndon Wilson (50m backstroke & 50m Fly) & Tilly Mae Thompson (25m backstroke).

Swimmers not previously mentioned, but also gaining valuable points for the team: Finley Edmund, Luke Foster, Ka Lun Pang, Tom Hepplestone, Lily Crooks, Scarlett Bateman, Amelia Barlow, Abigail Chevis, Charlie Keating, Archie Glenn, Georgi Bashford, Kian Grace-Riches, James Newton-Alison, Reece Copland.

Well done to all swimmers!!